My relationship with "him"

Warning: Be very open minded while reading this or atleast pretend.

Ohh no, you got the wrong idea. This is not that article where I lay out the juicy details of my relationship with my B.F.

I am talking about that one person who “supposedly” resides somewhere up there and keeps a watchful eye on all of us lesser mortals. No, this is not even about your creepy neighbour who stays on the floor above.

This is about the image, belief, perception, person, supernatural being which we are made to believe in since childhood. Bang on! Congratulations! You got it this time.

When I was young I was introduced to him as someone who is like an elderly member of the family and who will always be there to look after me no matter what. Someone who preaches good over evil and to be our very best self. (And let me make myself very clear here, the use of he is not to imply gender bias of any kind. “He” can very much be a “she” or maybe there is just no distinction but just considering this as the limitation of language I would request you all to overlook this.)

He also comes with a very special quality of possessing the power to make wishes come true.

Sounded good.

Idea accepted.

Hands joined.

Prayers said.

Demands made.

I couldn’t have asked for anything better.

Years later, I question. I reason. I want to know where and how it all started. Do we have proofs? Has anybody seen him? Met him? Touched him? Taken pictures?

Are we holding fiction so close to our hearts that it has completely taken over us and become a gigantic mass reality?

Or am I mistaken here and committing blasphemy by even asking these insouciant questions?

And please don’t misunderstand my intentions. There has never been a “Deewar” moment in my life which made me turn away from him because I asked for some special favour and he didn’t oblige. Talking about my beliefs or rather non-existent beliefs, I would call myself an agnostic person, hanging somewhere in there. I would like to believe but find it hard to. I have a simple rule, the day I feel him around me in any possible way I will convert. I have heard of many incidents where people felt some such pristine soul touching them. I am waiting for my turn. Or I guess if he actually exists somewhere out there he is punishing me and just keeping me waiting. Maybe he will strike me with lightening in the next ten days to prove that he exists. (You will also know for sure then). Some things are just meant to be learnt the hard way.

From what I understand man invented him for overcoming the sorrow and grief in this difficult and perplexing world, longing for some external comfort and support which gives him the strength to keep going. As per theory things were simple, you need him, you believe in him, he exists. I am also making a conjecture that all these believers have had their Eureka moments where they felt his existence.

But what is astounding is how this caught up on the entire world. How we all forgot to ask questions and accepted him as an absolute and got completely engulfed by this concept so much so that anybody or anything merely suggesting anything different is nothing but despicable. Any non believer is looked down upon and/or as a reincarnation of devil himself. Everywhere they go they are met with a raised eyebrow and uncomfortable silence which is somehow shouting out loud what kind of an unethical soul (read ridiculous person) are you? Don’t you believe in any kind of good or humanity?

Sir/ Ma’am, we very much believe in the good of all mankind, just hold different set of values and principles. Allow us to co-exist and don’t force. Let there be mutual respect. Peace all.

For a change why not re-examine our own thoughts and sensibilities? Why not try to unlearn what we have been taught and for a few moments forget what has been passed on from generation to generation? Why not gamble just for once and put everything to test?

I do not say believe or do not believe but make a choice. Take charge. Do not follow the herd. Your beliefs define you. Make sure they are original and not borrowed.

It takes all kinds to make the world and “tolerance” is the word. And as far as I am concerned I am still waiting for the lightening to strike.

6 thoughts on “My relationship with "him"

Add yours

  1. Swaran Singh : Theory of Uncertainity : An electron behaves as a Wave as well as a particle. And it is impossible to measure with a precision the exact nature of the electron. If you will concentrate on Wave nature, you will miss its Mass, Vice Versa if you would concentrate on its Mass you wd loose its wave character. So what I believe is God exists and at the same time it doesn't exists. It is just a state of mind. You can start concentrate on the either side and the other side will soon vanish. Let me take another example : How do you define healthy? when you are not sick, ur healthy. But you cant say ur healthy but u are sick also. Healthy is overshadowed by a disease. but that doesn't mean heath has gone away. I guess i cant confuse u any further..:)

  2. That ws an interesting thot pragya…u've put ur thots very beautifully…without any diplomacy….n i definitely respect ur thots and somewhat agree with u…that a person needs to himself experience GOD rather than just believing in him just bcoz he has been told to do..but ya there's one thing..wen others share their life changing experiences…it's just a way GOD wants us to know that he exists n that v r nt alone..v just need to look fr him with our heart n soul put in that process..!! May ur journey b a beautiful one…:)

  3. @ Aloke:Thanks
    @ Swaran: I gather from your comment that you are meandering your way around trying to say the following.”We should be openminded enough to accept the possibility of the existence of god and to be willing to accept this. Things are not always absolute and we should be willing to admit the diverse nature of all things and possibilities”. I am also talking about the same thing. but only my observations thus far have perhaps not lead me to the same conclusions as you
    @ Megha: Maybe you are right about saying that experiences can be shared. But i guess i am too inquisitive a person and would love to go all the way myself.Thanks for your good wishes.

  4. Dear Pragya .. An excellent work here!

    I found myself on a similar path last year and came to the conclusion that we need to understand the concept of God from the angle of a particular religion. For example Chritianity strives to make Human Being a better person. Hence 'Love thy neighbour' 'Alms to the poor' 'forgive and forget' etc. And to make sense with the difficult kids they came out with hell/ heaven and the day of judgement.

    Buddhism is about living life in moderation.

    In Hinduism .. we believe in a spirit! The industructible, all pervasive spirit which signifies existence (represented by the word AUM). So anything into existence is worth praying to (Hence God is everywhere!) This explains y we hav animal Gods, natural phenomena as Gods, we pray to trees, mountains EVERYTHING. Thus there is divinity whithin u and me. (Namastay literally means 'the divinity within me bows to the divinity within u') So according to hinduism just the fact that something is in existence it is worth celebrating.. thus life is a celebration. Now over time this meaning is not conveyed and ppl bind religion into rituals! (some meaningful but most of them have lost their relevance now but we still cling to them).. So I guess its important to revert back to the beautiful spiritual theories of r ancient heritage than to believe in figures and rituals.

  5. Thanks Tanny.
    I agree with what you say. Its just that nowadays customs and traditions shackle us. The way religion is to be followed has been forgotton. As you fairly pointed out religion doesn’t mean anything more than tolerance. The divinity within me to the divinity within you. If only people would understand this and come out of the superstitions and practice religion the way it is to be practiced.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑